Taming Creativity

Yes folks, that’s right.  I have to tame my creative self.  Why?  Well, most simply put, its so I don’t scare my clients, my parents, & my husband – but my kids always thinks I’m awesome.  The desire to conform hasn’t been beaten in to them yet.

Don’t get me wrong.  Conforming has its good parts – it encourages good hygiene and controlling bodily smells that are natural people repellent.  But when it disables a creative person, like myself.  Well, crap.  We’re just screwed then.  Sure, we look pretty and smell nice, but really, we are wondering if we can wear that tutu on the subway?  Whether that will result in us gaining more desired seat space, or make us a prime target a mugging?  Probably both.  But we would look so awesome in the mean time!

So, when choosing not to conform – aka being creative – you need to be careful.  There is a fine line between creative and being crazy.  If you flutter off to one side periodically (as long as you don’t use the word flutter on a daily basis), it’s OK.  Just don’t stay there too long, otherwise you can’t ever come back.

It’s important NOT to overstay your welcome in Creativetown and accidentally wander over the tracks into Crazyville.  Its really easy to do, if you arent paying attention.  Contrary to popular belief, there is no Welcome to Crazyville! sign.  I know, right?  Cause that would make it way easier.

You need a wtf? friend to slap you in the back of the head, when you go to set up shop in Crazyville.  Hopefully, the smack will return your promptly to Creativetown.  If it doesn’t work, just wait, and she’ll do it again.

How did I tame my creativity today?  I ate pancakes for lunch – it gave me the indulgent feel of doing something creative, without being a total freak.  How did I judge this?  My mother watched me, but said nothing.  On the heath-o-meter scale – 4g of fat and only 120 calories!  Add on the Vermont Maple Syrup, and it might as well have been covered in Pixie Stix.  But that woulda crossed me into Crazyville, and opened a chastising dialog about eating something normal for lunch.

What else did I do?  I did not wear a tutu on the subway.

You’re welcome.  I DO have a top hat, and have been considering what I could do with that.  Im pretty sure owning one puts my foot in Crazyville.  Wearing it would totally land my ass there too.

TTYL!

About sublimeromantic

New York Times, Wall Street Journal, & USA Today bestselling author.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Taming Creativity

  1. Marissa says:

    HAHA.! Us Kids Love Untamed Parents.! It Makes Life Easier As Far As I Know :3 Anyway Love Ya. Im Spreading The Word Around My Library ‘Bout Your Book.

    Hope It Comes Out Soon,
    Rissa

Leave a Reply

